(including policy research); in addition, the fire commissioner of Canada operates under the authority of the minister of public works, with responsibility for protection of life of occupants of government property and for the minimization of property loss as a result of fire.

The departmental property inventory includes certain holdings which are developed using an existing Crown corporation (the Canada Lands Co. Ltd.) as a corporate structure. Three subsidiary Crown corporations have been established: The Canada Lands Co. (Le Vieux-Port de Québec) Inc., the Canada Lands Co. (Le Vieux-Port de Montréal) Ltd., and the Canada Lands Co. (Mirabel) Ltd. The minister of public works is also responsible for the Toronto Harbourfront Corp., Harbour Place Vancouver, and the Canadian Museums Construction Corp.

Queen Elizabeth II Canadian Research Fund. The Queen Elizabeth II Canadian Research Fund Act (SC 1959, c.33) established a fund of \$1 million to be administered by a board of trustees to aid in research on children's diseases. The prime minister reports to Parliament on operations of this fund.

Regional Industrial Expansion, Department of. The federal government announced the merging of the departments of industry, trade and commerce and of regional economic expansion in 1982. Legislation to complete the merger was passed in the House of Commons in October 1983, received royal assent in November 1983, and was officially proclaimed in December 1983. The new department of regional industrial expansion (DRIE) operates under the authority of Government Organization Act 1983.

DRIE is the principal department for encouraging investment in viable industrial undertakings in manufacturing, resource processing (and related service industries), tourism and small business. The department's mandate is to promote productive investments to achieve industrial development and renewal in all regions, thereby contributing to job creation, exports, improved competitiveness and non-inflationary development.

The department is organized into a number of functional groups: small business and special projects; policy; tourism; capital and industrial goods; consumer goods, services and resource processing; the comptroller's office; northern and special programs; and a native economic development program. It operates 12 regional offices and 24 local offices throughout Canada.

The minister also reports to Parliament on behalf of the Federal Business Development Bank; the Foreign Investment Review Agency; the Cape Breton Development Corp.; Canadian Patents and Development Ltd. Boards and other organizations reporting to the minister are: the native economic development board; the textile and clothing board; the Canadian industrial renewal board; the machinery and equipment advisory board; the industrial and regional development projects board; the Atlantic Development Corp. Canada and the national design council.

Restrictive Trade Practices Commission. The commission was established by the Combines Investigation Act (RSC

## CANADA YEAR BOOK

1970, c.C-23 as amended by SC 1974-75-76, c.76). In respect of trade practices contained in Part IV. 1 of the act, on application of the director of investigation and research and after holding a hearing at which evidence is submitted by the director and by the party against whom an order is sought, the commission acting as an independent court of record may issue an order prohibiting the practice. In respect of restrictive trade practices contained in Part V of the act, the commission may hold hearings under Section 47 of the act and appraise evidence submitted by the director and the parties under investigation, to report to the minister of consumer and corporate affairs.

Roosevelt Campobello International Park Commission. Established by the Roosevelt Campobello International Park Commission Act (SC 1964-65, c.19), the commission consists of six members, three appointed by the Government of Canada (one on the recommendation of the New Brunswick government) and three by the government of the United States (one on the recommendation of the state of Maine), to administer the Roosevelt Campobello International Park at Campobello, NB. The Canadian section of the commission reports to Parliament through the secretary of state for external affairs.

Royal Canadian Mint. In operation since January 1908, the mint was first established as a branch of the Royal Mint under the United Kingdom Coinage Act of 1870. In December 1931, by an act of the Canadian Parliament, it became the Royal Canadian Mint and operated as a branch of the finance department. By the Government Organization Act of 1969, the mint became a Crown corporation, reporting to Parliament through the minister of supply and services. It operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.R-8.

The latter change was made to provide for a more industrial type of organization and for flexibility in producing coins of Canada and other countries; buying, selling, melting, assaying and refining gold and other precious metals; and producing medals, plaques and other devices. The mint has a seven-member board of directors appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The master of the mint is its chief executive officer. The chairman of the board is appointed for a four-year period, subject to re-appointment; five other directors, two from inside and three from outside the public service, are appointed for three years. The mint operates basically as a manufacturing enterprise. Financial requirements are provided through loans from the consolidated revenue fund.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police. This civil force, organized and administered by the federal government, was established in 1873 as the North-West Mounted Police. It now operates under authority of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act (RSC 1970, c.R-9) and is responsible for enforcing federal laws throughout Canada. By agreement with the governments of eight provinces (all except Ontario and Quebec) it is also responsible for enforcing the Criminal Code of Canada and provincial laws in those provinces, under the direction of their attorneys general. The force is under contract with 191 municipalities, assuming enforcement responsibilities for criminal, provincial and municipal laws. Yukon and Northwest Territories are policed exclusively by the Royal Canadian